How old do I need to be to take the driver ed course?
The 38 hour course is for students 14 yrs and 9 months old up to 17 years of age and enrolled in school.
What do I need to bring to class?
We ask the students to bring notebook to take notes in.
We have copies of the Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles driver's guide for the classroom. We also have a link to an electronic copy found on our "Rules & Resources" page. (In English & Spanish)
We have pens and highlighters as needed.
General Driver Ed
Is a down payment required at registation?
MAKE SURE YOUR PAYMENT OBLIGATIONS ARE MET.
Payment by credit card is encouraged to secure your seat. If you still need to pay your deposit, please log in to your account and secure your seat for your upcoming course(s).
If you are paying by check, please include the student's name in your correspondence when sending payment and allow 3-5 business days for mailing time. You may also print the ledger and send it with your payment to help us log your check payment to the proper student account.
Our pledge is for a safe and secure experience. Fast Track Driving Academy will maintain the strict confidentiality of all information provided to us through the registration process, including, but not limited to, names, addresses, and credit card information. Fast Track Driving Academy will not rent, sell, or use the lists of names or other information so gathered for the purpose of solicitation or for any other purpose by outside organizations.
Fast Track Driving Academy will provide and maintain the secure storage of all information collected from the users of its service and from the client (whether in paper or electronic format).
Fast Track Driving Academy would like to take the time to go over what the course will consist of. At the end of the orientation, there is a roster for parents/guardians to sign and a Q&A for anyone to ask questions. Again, this course is for you to become a safer driver.
What is your refund policy?
If Fast Track Driving Academy is unable to complete a student's course, due to a failure of Fast Track Driving Academy and not from scheduling of said student by the student, parent/guardian, then a parent/guardian or adult student may request a refund for the uncompleted portion of the course. Fast Track Driving Academy by the Louisiana Dept. of Motor Vehicles has 180 days from completion of the classroom course to complete the 8 hr (BTW) portion of the course. Once a reasonable request has been submitted by email to our website and a resolution has been made, this refund will be made available within 10 days working days of the request. If a reasonable request for a refund is not granted, the student and/or the parent may apply against the Fast Track Driving Academy's surety bond.
How do I get a license if I am over 18?
Louisiana Law requires anyone 18 years of age or older who desires a driver's license to take a 14 Hour Pre-licensing Course, which includes 6 hours of classroom instruction, the OMV Written Exam, and 8 hours of one-on-one behind the wheel instruction.
What is the law on the TIP?
Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) is a class E credential. All students enrolled in a driver education or pre-licensing course must present a TIP. The student must have the TIP in their possession when operating a motor vehicle during the behind-the-wheel portion of instruction and when accompanied by a licensed driver education instructor or during the administration of a road skills test.
Upon completion of driver education, the TIP will be surrendered to OMV along with proof of completion of the appropriate driver's education course and any other necessary documents. There is no additional cost to convert from the TIP to a Learner's Permit for a minor.
Additional information is found in Act 317 of the 2016 regular legislative session.
I'm an Adult, do I need to get a TIP Card?
Yes, everyone has to have a TIP Card to take a driver's education course.
Can I get a TIP Card after I take the classroom portion of the course?
No, you need a TIP Card before you can take the final exam.
You will not be allowed to take the final exam until you have your TIP Card, as per the DMV.
What do I need to bring to the OMV to get my TIP Card?
- Original Birth Certificate
- Original Social Security Card
- Letter of Attendance from your current High School
- Parent with valid Louisiana Driver License
- School ID
- Proof of Car Insurance